Why this music? Why now?

I chose the genres of metal, hardcore, punk, and alternative, because I love the music. The reason this blog was conceived was to shine a light on the seminal artists that helped make the scene what it is today, while missing out on the popularity todays bands enjoy. The popularity of the heavy music scene in todays market is at a high not seen since the “hair metal” bands. Therefore the bands that helped build the metal/hardcore scene did not have the restrictions placed upon them by record labels trying to push sales, thus creating a more unique, at times more experimental, sound. In the weeks and months too follow, I will try to build an archive of album reviews and artist spotlights on the bands active from ’94-’01 in the underground christian music scene. God willing, I will also recruit help from some friends and collegues to share some of their stories. I hope you enjoy the site in the coming weeks. God Bless!

About Matthew Alexander

Matthew Alexander is a born again believer in Jesus Christ, is married to a beautiful woman named Maria, and owns a pair of dogs Sweet Pea and Max. He also enjoys christian metal, hardcore, punk, alternative, and rock music.
This entry was posted in The Beginnings. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Why this music? Why now?

  1. BrooksCRR says:

    Nice to see you on here blogging about these classic metal/hardcore albums! Feel free to recruit me as I’m delving into the seminal releases from these bands. Here’s an article I wrote, feel free to post it! http://brooksginnan.wordpress.com/2010/08/21/marketing-metal-and-jesus/

    • Sounds great! I wanted to do something completely different from CRR, IVM, and CMZINE. I just hope that it isn’t too much like Brandon’s old school tribute site. As soon as I figure out how to post your article I will. If worse comes to worse, I’ll at least put a link up to it. I look forward to hearing your thoughts on these releases, since for the most part my views will probably wax nostalgic and not be the most objective. Who am I kidding, of course I will be objective. haha.

Leave a Reply

