Other Great Sites

I would like to recommend a few of my favorite christian based music websites and blogs to my readers, all two of you. The first one I want to mention is Indie vision music. This is probably my favorite site on the internet. I visit numerous times a day. They always provide the latest news faster than anyone else for the most part. They have a very deep reviews archive and have some of the best reviewers in the field on staff. They also have some neat extras that include free digital downloads, interviews, frequently updated polls, a user rating on reviews, some heartfelt editorials, and best of lists compiled by staff members at the end of the year. The site owner, Brandon Jones also has separate blog called Old School Tribute, that I’m also a reader of. That site was one of the reasons I wanted to start my own. Another great site is run by a man named Tyler Hess. It is called Christian Music Zine, though not as in depth as IVM, it is still a fairly new site. CMZ has frequent updates and is constantly changing the design in attempts to make it more user friendly. Tyler also is one of the funniest guys in the business, I get a lot of laughs in his humorous posts. He also pretty much runs the whole thing himself, though he does have a few reviewers on staff to assist. A new entry to the scene that started in mid 2009 is Christian Rock Rocks. This site began by a former IVM staff member, Brooks Ginnan, is very user friendly and has grown in leaps and bounds in the short time it has existed. CRR recently has begun to cover heavy music along with the more christian rock radio style. CRR also has started doing interviews and having live show reviews. Brooks runs the site himself, he does however employ another reviewer on staff to focus more on the metal and hardcore bands. That reviewer also happens to be your truly. Some other sites that I enjoy are Jesus Freak Hideout, which has just recently celebrated it’s 14th birthday, is the largest and deepest of the sites and covers all styles from adult contemporary to hardcore/metal. Jaysmusikblog, which covers mostly CCM and CHR acts; One 21 Music, which covers pretty much everything, including American Idol; and Bandsonfire, which is a site out of Germany that covers mostly metal and hardcore music. On a side note, Bandsonfire is having financial trouble and needs your help. If you are intersted in donating visit bandsonfire.com and you will be able to. These are some of the sites that I love and I encourage you to check them out. I hope that you get as much enjoyment out of these sites that I do. Hopefully you will be able to discover new music as well, because that’s really why we do this.

About Matthew Alexander

Matthew Alexander is a born again believer in Jesus Christ, is married to a beautiful woman named Maria, and owns a pair of dogs Sweet Pea and Max. He also enjoys christian metal, hardcore, punk, alternative, and rock music.
This entry was posted in Editorials and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Other Great Sites

  1. That’s pretty cool! Thanks for suggesting me. 🙂 I’ve heard of many of these sites, but haven’t heard of others. I’ll go check ’em all out.

    God bless!
    ~Jay

  2. No problem man, I really enjoy visiting your site. Yeah, I encourage you to check them out. They are all really good reads. God bless man.

  3. Wow! Love the new look! 🙂

  4. Thanks. I actually just changed the address to theclassicchristianrocksite.wordpress.com too.

Leave a Reply

